The Dark Side of Feminism

Alice Walker is a noted black feminist, author, and activist. Her 1983 book, The Color Purple (later made into a movie), painted a depressing portrait of black culture, particularly black men. Walker’s commitment to the feminist ideal is strong and deep. She has received numerous honors for her work promoting the sisterhood.

However, her daughter, Rebecca Walker, recently published an article that reveals the dark side of feminism. Now that Rebecca herself is a mother, she rejects many of the principles that her mother stood for.

I honestly believe it’s time to puncture the myth and to reveal what life was really like to grow up as a child of the feminist revolution.

In Rebecca’s case, growing up as the daughter of this committed feminist was a cold and joyless experience.

As a little girl, I wasn’t even allowed to play with dolls or stuffed toys in case they brought out a maternal instinct. It was drummed into me that being a mother, raising children and running a home were a form of slavery. Having a career, travelling the world and being independent were what really mattered according to her.

It wasn’t until she grew up and got out on her own that she began to realize there was another perspective on womanhood.

The truth is that I very nearly missed out on becoming a mother – thanks to being brought up by a rabid feminist who thought motherhood was about the worst thing that could happen to a woman.

You see, my mum taught me that children enslave women. I grew up believing that children are millstones around your neck, and the idea that motherhood can make you blissfully happy is a complete fairytale.

In fact, having a child has been the most rewarding experience of my life. Far from ‘enslaving’ me, three-and-a-half-year-old Tenzin has opened my world.

Today, Rebecca and her mother are completely estranged. Some might argue that this is an unfortunate personal tragedy that can happen in any family. But Rebecca clearly blames it on the feminist propaganda that dominated her mother’s life, and warped her own early years. She concludes:

Feminism has betrayed an entire generation of women into childlessness. It is devastating.

But far from taking responsibility for any of this, the leaders of the women’s movement close ranks against anyone who dares to question them – as I have learned to my cost. I don’t want to hurt my mother, but I cannot stay silent. I believe feminism is an experiment, and all experiments need to be assessed on their results. Then, when you see huge mistakes have been paid, you need to make alterations.

This is a powerful article. Every young woman — especially those who are being indoctrinated by feminist professors — should read it. She has also just published a book about her new experience with maternity: Baby Love: Choosing Motherhood After A Lifetime Of Ambivalence.

3 responses to “The Dark Side of Feminism

  1. Rebecca has to understand why her mother felt that way. Alice grew up up at a time where it was drilled into their heads that what was womyn supposed to do. She wanted to free herself from those messages and live her life free from someone else’s ideas. This is all a generational mishap and it is sad those two do not speak.
    If there is a dark side to femininsm it is because it is trying to get to the light of things. I agree with Rebecca about adjusting different prespectives about femninism,but it is still needed today. Motherhood is meant only for those womyn who want to experience that journey; it shouldn’t be a criteria to meet to become a womyn.
    I still call myself a feminist because there is still much needed work to be done within the female community. We are still not free from danger of being raped, tortured, forced to marry a stranger, called out of our names,etc. Feminism is taking a new turn and breaking away from old tradition of thinking, but fighting for equality for womyn is still the same backing.

  2. Lunakiss, you seem to want feminism to act as the police. It should stop all forms of violence against individuals and it should stop name calling as well as torture and undesired marriages. Feminism as a theory is meant to bring equality, but equality doesn’t necessarily bring peace. If it did the fact that we are all being held hostage by the equality of nuclear annihilation from all corners of the world on everyone in it should have brought peace a long time ago.

    I agree – these people are both from two different times. The mother is a feminist because of her experiences, but in all fair-ness the daughter is now against it BECAUSE of her experiences.
    You can’t take away that both generations met at a point in time that allowed the daughter to experience her mothers frustrations and that has most definitely left a void in their relationship.

    Abuse comes in all forms and if her mother was a victim at any point – she needed to survive, but in surviving she has passed on some of her pain to her daughter and that is a shame because she has made her a victim as well. A victim of situations and circumstances she never personally experienced, but was forced to relive daily thanks to her suffering mother.

    If you ask me they both need professional help to better help them cope and deal with their issues and perhaps something better can come from all of this – a renewed, restored, and better relationship between mother and daughter.

  3. Any feminist that purposely misspells the word women and further assumes that women are some how less violent then men is a blaring example of the “darker side of feminism” I have daughters. I was a stay at home dad for ten years before my divorce. Because of the evil bias perpetrated against men by the feminists that insist that we are not of the same species and have no respect for men my children now have no father. I used to believe in the claims that feminism is about equality for all. No it is not. It is about the domination and destruction of anything male. My ex kidnapped my kids. Then In court told outrageous lies about me and claimed she was the primary care giver. Truth She worked 14 hours a day and had a supportive husband to thank for her success in her career. At that first hearing the judge threw me out on the street with no money and a 10 year gap in my job history. He told me that He will find out if I was the primary care giver ant the next hearing. Well I did prove it. But it no longer mattered because now I wasn’t any more.
    My daughters had a loving dedicated Father. I still love them. I am still dedicated but in no way do I play the role of a father anymore. I am closer to a fucking abused pony in a petting zoo than a father. Thank you feminism for doing this to my children. Thank you for teaching my daughters to abuse their future husbands and to never show men respect. Thank you for teaching my daughters it is okay for women to demonize one half of the population and never take responsibility for their own sins. Thank you for teaching my daughters that fathers are only important for their sperm and are other wise disposable. Yes because of your great accomplishments my daughters are assured a happy life learning how to hate other people just because of their gender.
    By they way For my sins and my anger I have always taken responsibility. I went out of my way in my court battle to be as honest as possible because I used to believe in truth. I admitted to yelling at my wife. She also yelled at me. I admitted to being angry at being a neglected spouse. I was guilty of being angry and of yelling. I was guilty of breaking down and crying in front of my kids. I admitted that. I did not accuse her of anything other that what was I knew was true. Yet she threw lie after lie at me and continues to to this day. She went out of her way to destroy my reputation. Even after it came out that her accusations were all baseless and false she continues to do this. And she has the support of feminism behind her. Yes there is work to there is lots of work to do. For all the good feminism has done It has done greater evil. The work that needs to be done is dismantling the damage of feminism.
    I still believe in equal rights and status for men and women. But the war on masculinity is bad for us it is bad for our children and our society. Stop separating our species and spell women with and “E”! We are Human meaning men and women = human not human and humyn .

Leave a Reply

