Unarmed and Helpless

One VT student takes his university, and his state, to task for depriving him of his right to defend himself on campus, despite the fact that he is licensed to carry a concealed weapon.

Of all of the emotions and thoughts that were running through my head that morning, the most overwhelming one was of helplessness.

That feeling of helplessness has been difficult to reconcile because I knew I would have been safer with a proper means to defend myself.

I would also like to point out that when I mentioned to a professor that I would feel safer with my gun, this is what she said to me, “I would feel safer if you had your gun.”

But no one had guns. So a crazed gunman could roam freely, killing at will, stopped only by the limits of his own deranged mind.

UPDATE: Jacob Sullum takes a closer look at the folly of disarming the victims, and offers examples of killing sprees in which an armed citizenry actually reduced the body count.

UPDATE #2: And a similarly fine read from Glenn Reynolds:

Police can’t be everywhere, and as incidents from Columbine to Virginia Tech demonstrate, by the time they show up at a mass shooting, it’s usually too late. On the other hand, one group of people is, by definition, always on the scene: the victims. Only if they’re armed, they may wind up not being victims at all.

And one more excellent piece from Dave Kopel.

Leave a Reply

